Commonwealth shortlist announced

The regional shortlists for the 2008 Commonwealth Writers’ Prize were announced today.

Laidlaw Library has nine of the twelve books shortlisted for Canada and the Caribbean, and I’ve just ordered the other three. The lone Caribbean title on the shortlist, The Rainmaker’s Mistake by Jamaican novelist Erna Brodber, seems to be hard to find in Canada (perhaps that will change now that it’s been shortlisted!). But it’s available from the publisher, New Beacon Books, in England.

Best Book regional shortlist:
Gil Adamson, The Outlander
Erna Brodber, The Rainmaker’s Mistake (ordered)
Lawrence Hill, The Book of Negroes
Robert Hough, The Culprits
Frances Itani, Remembering the Bones
Michael Ondaatje, Divisadero

Best First Book regional shortlist:
David Chariandy, Soucouyant
Tish Cohen, Town House (ordered)
Arley McNeney, Post (ordered)
Ameen Merchant The Silent Raga
C.S. Richardson, The End of the Alphabet
Neil Smith, Bang Crunch

Last year the overall Commonwealth winner for Best Book was Mister Pip, by New Zealand author Lloyd Jones.


One response to “Commonwealth shortlist announced

  1. I just posted an interview with Tish Cohen and a book giveaway on my blog.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s