Atwood wins international prize with Amitav Ghosh

Margaret Atwood and Indian author Amitav Ghosh are co-winners of a $1 million Dan David Prize (the same prize for which Atom Egoyan was a co-winner in 2008).

It’s quite an interesting prize, since each year it features three different themes related to the past, the present, and the future. This year’s “present” theme, for which Atwood and Ghosh won the prize, is “Literature: Rendition of the 20th Century.”

The most recent novels by these authors are Ghosh’s Sea of Poppies and Atwood’s The Year of the Flood.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s